I'm mainly interested in low dimensional manifolds and their moduli. A lot of my research revolves around the study of surfaces and curves on surfaces. This involves the study of (curvature free) systolic type inequalities, the geometry and spectra of hyperbolic surfaces, high genus random surfaces, mapping class groups, the geometry of Teichmüller and moduli spaces, infinite type surfaces, and a general interest in combinatorial geometry and geometric group theory.

Members of the research group in Luxembourg:

PhD students: Nhat Minh Doan, David Fisac (co-tutelle with Florent Balacheff), Thi Hanh Vo.
Post-docs: Alan McLeay, Mélanie Theillière, Binbin Xu

Former members of the research group in Luxembourg:

Post-docs: Funda Gultepe, Yan Mary He, Wai Yeung Lam.
Visiting PhD students (long term): Pallavi Panda (Lille), Cayo Rodrigo (IMPA, Rio)

We are also part of the "Research cluster in low dimensional geometry and topology".

Former members of the research group in Fribourg:

PhD students: Federica Fanoni and Bram Petri. Both Federica and Bram successfully completed their PhD in June 2015.
Post-docs: Ariadna Fossas Tenas (February 2016 - July 2016), Viveka Erlandsson (October 2015 - March 2016), Valentina Disarlo (June 2014 - August 2014), Matthieu Gendulphe (January 2012 - August 2012).


Jim Anderson, Javier Aramayona, Florent Balacheff, Ara Basmajian, Peter Buser, Will Cavendish, Antonio Costa, Vincent Despré, Olivier Devillers, Valentina Disarlo, Nhat Minh Doan, Emily Dryden, Mattijs Ebbens, Viveka Erlandsson, Federica Fanoni, Ariadna Fossas, Thomas Gauglhofer, Larry Guth, Milagros Izquierdo, Ghislain Jaudon, Chris Judge, Steve Karam, Cyril Lecuire, Marissa Loving, Eran Makover, Daniel Massart, Gérard Maze, Alan McLeay, Greg McShane, Camille Petit, Bram Petri, Alexandra Pettet, Lionel Pournin, Stéphane Sabourau, Jean-Marc Schlenker, Ken Shackleton, Juan Souto, Craig Sutton, Ser Peow Tan, Paul Turner, Yunhui Wu, Yuhao Xue, Robert Young, Gert Vegter, Ashley Weber, Samuel Zappa.